I like to read.

(from top to bottom: Snuff, Sunset Park, The Adderall Diaries, Blankets, Fight Club, Scenes from an Impending Marriage, Birthday Letters, Ariel)

These are the books I read in January.  (Three of them were rereads.)  I enjoyed them all immensely, but if I had to pick a favorite, it’d be Sunset Park.  I am rapidly becoming obsessed with Paul Auster.

It’d been awhile since I’d read that many books in a month.  A lifetime ago I could blow through ten or more books in one month with ease.  A lifetime ago I was impressed by quantity.  Now I am not.  I take my time reading because I am more or less forced to, motherhood being what it is.  I have enjoyed the process of slowing down, though, because that’s what life’s about.  Slowing down, savoring.  There’s no rush.  We’ve all got the same thing waiting for us.

We got rid of most of our books, traded them in at a local bookstore for store credit.  The time had come to rid ourselves of a lot of clutter, and our books were part of it.  I’d always imagined us with a huge library but we currently lack the space.  I actually enjoy having less books.  It means we get to take the boys to the library every weekend, just like my mom did with me.  It means we won’t have to pack them up and move them the next time we find ourselves relocating.  It means we have more open space in our apartment, and thus it feels more quiet.

Books are wonderful, but I don’t need to own every book I love.  Sometimes all the fun is in finding a copy of a beloved book again.

2 thoughts on “I like to read.

  1. This just inspired me to read 🙂 I LOVE to read, but don’t do it enough. I want to go to the library and check books out for free, but the only time I can find to read is laying in bed. Therefore, I need to download books to my Kindle app on my phone so I can read in the dark 😛 …for 5 minutes before I crash. Sunset Park sounds like a good one. I may check it out. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 19 | spark and echo

Leave a Reply

